INTERVIEW: WilliamRLBaker

SW Magazine interviews resident System Warrior WilliamRLBaker! What does he see with his own eyes? Time to find out!

Noblesville, Indiana

Noblesville, Indiana

Who the heck are you?

I am William Baker 31 years old from Noblesville, Indiana, born in Lincoln, Nebraska. I’ve been playing video games since I was two years old on the Atari 2600.

How did you first stumble into System Wars?

Well back in the late 90’s I was a lurker on VideoGamespot and later Gamespot when it turned into such. I really looked into the forums around 2003 when I joined under the user name S_o_G which I inhabited for three years till I finally changed to WilliamRLBaker to have a parity across all my accounts on the internet.

Videogamespot.com on April 13, 1997

Videogamespot.com on April 13, 1997

I liked System Wars cause I could fight and make fun of people here a big no no on other forums.

All told I’ve been on System Wars 9+ years.

I do not know how to expand on that, I kind of regret ever coming to System Wars. It has consumed quite a bit of my life.

It’s not every day that you hear someone regret coming to System Wars. Pretty amazing you’ve even been here so long. Any memorable moments from your time here that you remember the most?

2005 and 2006 E3’s oh and the Einstein and Hitler aren’t even in the same time period. I cannot rightly remember whom posted that but god that was a day that thread exploded.

You have had a history of getting into what appears to be some friction with other users. Are your feelings about other users really that hostile, or is it really not like it seems?

I do not really think that I’ve had anymore friction with other users than anyone else on System Wars. Oh, when Gamespot introduced the new Terms of Use I stepped up my….abuse but I do not feel anymore than most users on System Wars. In the end, System Wars was always about abuse how much we could do, and how we skirt the terms of use in the method we apply that abuse. It was rare even before the new terms of use to have legitimate heartfelt debate there have always been extreme fanboys and trolls of which I am both.

As for it not being as it seems, yes, I would have to say so I really harbor no ill will or ill word in the outside world for most System Wars. If I met any of them in real life I would likely say hello, how are you doing?…etc because I do not really take System Wars as seriously as some would believe, I joined System Wars originally for one reason and one reason alone…to fight with people because I get a kick out of it.

Who do you think will win the next-generation console wars?

I missed the Xbox One reveal due to the power going out in my neighborhood, and also purposely ignoring most threads about it so I did not have any information when answering this question I can definitely say…..I have no idea.

I know only one thing for sure; for the first time since I was a child I will not own all the systems at launch and not because of choice but because of financial issues, sadly. Though I do have a few ideas of what will happen next generation, I believe that we will see a small resurgence in the Wii U; mostly because Nintendo will have finally released some killer hits such as a big Mario game or Zelda game. I also believe we will see the same thing we saw this generation that is a near equal footing between the Playstation 4 and Xbox one.

I will eventually get one or two of the next generation systems, I may even pick up a Wii U down the line but I have too much invested in the current generation and not enough money to justify purchase of a whole new generation, the major deciding factor will be BC of digital content for me.

One response to “INTERVIEW: WilliamRLBaker

Comments are closed.