REPORT: Future Games of 2012 that G Might Like

REPORT: FUTURE 2012 GAMES THAT G MIGHT LIKE

G:

A lot of stuff happened today.

And Elder Scrolls Online sounds like a terrible idea.

Wasdie:

G, I have to ask….is there any game coming out that you don’t think sounds or looks terrible?

G:

…..

XCOM: Enemy Unknown….

Wasdie:

One.

G:

…Sleeping Dogs….

Wasdie:

What in the world is Sleeping Dogs?

G:

…True Crime: Hong Kong…

Wasdie:

Now that game is going to be terrible, just like the last True Crime game.

G:

It was only True Crime in name, since Activision thought it would push more sales. It looks like ‘Just Cause GTA’, with Batman combat and slo-mo shooting.

Also, I like Assassin’s Creed 3, the next Bioshock, Darksiders 2, Borderlands 2….

Lafigueroa:

So G, you’re the next “will not consider anything that isn’t AAA” IronBass?

G:

I said Sleeping Dogs, didn’t I?

Lafigueroa:

That’s not a game, it’s a life lesson in digital form.

G:

Animal Crossing!

Lafigueroa:

Sucks. Next.

Wasdie:

That really does sound like IronBass, Lafigueroa. “Gotta be AAA, gotta be published by some big name publisher, gotta be on Xbox 360”.

G:

You’d probably have to give me a list, because only AAA titles are on the Wikipedia list.

Wasdie:

When I say AAA quality, I mean a big budget game. AAA doesn’t necessarily mean games that score 90+ on websites. That’s just silly.

Lafigueroa:

We know, Wasdie.

Wasdie:

G doesn’t.

G:

….yeah I do! They have like two indie games on the Wikipedia list.

Oh! I’m also excited for Jet Set Radio HD. What do you think of this Elder Scrolls Online idea?

Wasdie:

I don’t know, it could be good. All I know is that Guild Wars 2 is at the end of June.

G:

I’d probably get Guild Wars 2 if I had a PC that….worked. Also:

“The Elder Scrolls Online is currently in development at Zenimax Online Studios, and is designed to let players explore the full breadth of the world of Tamriel, “from Elsweyr to Skyrim and everywhere in between.” The Game Informer cover story will cover single-player quests, public dungeons, and even a player-driven PvP element that features three warring factions all vying for the province of Cyrodiil and the Emperor’s throne. Additionally, a short teaser trailer is expected to launch tomorrow.”

Yeah, this will be bad.

Wasdie:

What? Player driven PvP sounds awesome!

G:

Without some massive overhaul, Elder Scrolls will not work in this setting.

Wasdie:

You’re assuming it’s going to be a FPS. I’ll tell you now, it won’t be.

G:

I don’t believe the world is what people associate with The Elder Scrolls.

Wasdie:

Apparently, the game has been in development for five years; though I am expecting a World of Warcraft clone, to be honest. Nothing revolutionary.

G:

Yeah, the more interesting MMOs are not coming out of the big guys.

Wasdie:

That’s because big guys need to play it safe. That isn’t a bad thing, mind you. Rift and Star Wars: The Old Republic are both World of Warcraft clones and people enjoy those.

