BATTLE ROYALE July 2011 Part 2


Willy105:

So, my fellow acquaintances, which of our beloved gaming companies did the best this past two weeks?

Jynxzor:

Not much in the way of large releases.

3DS took a large blow with Capcom announcing they pretty much don’t care about the system at all “more reason for everyone to hate Capcom”

While I didn’t play them myself Ms-splosion man and Bastion are great games by the looks of it. Point for Microsoft?

Fabz_95:

With a number of good XBLA titles in Bastion, Ms Splosion Man and it being a pretty slow two weeks otherwise, I think you’d have to give it to Microsoft unless you’d give it to the PC with Panzer Corps scoring an 8.0.

Willy105:

PSN did get Limbo this week (finally), but it is lacking in the features the other versions had. Capcom cancelling Megaman Legends 3 was a huge blow for the 3DS (and Capcom fans), since it was one of it’s biggest upcoming games. The resulting backlash against Capcom was both epic and entertaining, but it certainly doesn’t do Nintendo any favors.

789Shadow:

Microsoft is starting off it’s Summer of Arcade, and not much of ANYTHING came to anything else.

Willy105:

Well, Comic-Con started just in time to bring some noteworthy stuff here, I think. Disappointing that Twisted Metal is going to have an M-rated, I keep expecting the game industry will grow out of that phase, but it obviously isn’t the case.

DarkLink77:

I guess Microsoft due to Bastion? I dunno, I can’t think of any other big releases,

Also, laughing @ Willy lamenting the new Twisted Metal being like Black when Black is the best entry in the series.

Willy105:

I assume Twisted Metal Black being the best was not simply because it was “mature”.

DarkLink77:

No, but the tone was very well utilized. I don’t see how it being “mature” is bad if it’s done well.

Willy105:

Because it doesn’t have to be. For the edge of being “mature” gives to the game, it also lowers it’s potential audience. Making a good game with a bigger audience is obviously more desirable than a good game with a smaller audience.

DarkLink77:

Considering Sony’s bottom line doesn’t affect me (and I’m guessing, you) in the slightest, I don’t know why you care. I’d rather have a batter game based on the series high point than something that sells better and isn’t as good.

789shadow:

Darklink and Willy, fight!

Willy105:

Then in that case, there is no reason for it to be M-rated….hold on, this is Battle Royale. Who won this thing?

DarkLink77:

I guess Sony, because we’re all talking about Twisted Metal?

789shadow:

I win Battle Royal.

DarkLink77:

Did you even do anything, Shadow?

Willy105:

He’s trying to copy you and your Uncharted 3 trolling. Sony wins then.

DarkLink77:

In light of the recent 3DS price drop, I think we have to give it to Nintendo now.

789shadow:

That settles it, Nintendo wins!

Willy105:

I was hoping Sony to win (because they haven’t in a while), but considering the huge 3DS price drop, and the 20 free games current 3DS owners are getting, Nintendo deserves it. Curse you, DarkLink.

4

3

1

1

 1

