Tsug_Ze_Wind’s Farewell

Tsug_Ze_Wind’s Farewell…

I probably should’ve left after Gerstmanngate.

I probably should’ve left after System Wars Bets.

Come to think of it, I probably shouldn’t have come here in the first place.

But I did, and I’m still here. So I figure, I really should be on my way.

It’s been an enjoyable three years on Gamespot, for the most part. I certainly made enough friends, caused enough drama, and killed enough time to make it all worthwhile. I’ve seen epic win and epic fail, I’ve seen heated debates and one-sided verbal beatdowns (and I’d like to think I was never on the receiving end of the latter), I’ve seen the same dude with five different accounts, and I’ve also seen great guys get banned for good.

But now, it’s time to move on. There was a time when I was in the enviable position of having more free time than I knew what to do with. That time has passed. I won’t bore you with IRL details (and I’ll try to stop using the word “time” so much), but you know how it is. Real life takes priority over the internets.

Luckily, System Wars has made it easier for me to quit my addiction. SW is like a TV series that killed off all its likeable characters and ended all the compelling storylines. It hasn’t been hard to stay away from the board, I have to say.

And so, after I finish my final project, the second Iron ‘Shop contest, I will be out. Gone. Probably not ever coming back, because I know if I do, there’s a slim chance that I’ll want to stay. (It’s not like this is my first retirement–one could say I’m the Brett Favre of System Wars. Maybe I’ll come back and play for Off-Topic!) But before I go, there’s a few things I’d like to clear up.

Fanboyism: Most people that know me on SW know me because of my pro-bias arguments. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: That’s what SW is for. You pick a side, and you bicker, you debate, you fight. That’s why it’s called System WARS. If you don’t like it, I’ve heard General Games Discussion is a nice board.

Grrr: My aggressive style of debate probably made some people think that I was an erupting volcano of nerd-rage. Actually, it’s just a debate tactic. I come from a family of master debaters (yuk yuk), so I know that debate isn’t just about the arguments–it’s also about your opponent. It also has the side-effect of making debates very entertaining to watch. The only time I’ve ever actually gotten angry on GS is when SWB was shut down.

Banhammer: I still have no idea how I was never banned. I’ve seen posters who I never saw do anything against the rules get banned, and yet I survived the death-trap known as System Wars for three years. Because of this, it’s rather difficult for me to believe that the mods are banhammer-swinging tyrants like it seems most do. I’ve never really had a problem with the mods, even though we’ve scrapped plenty of times. The admins, on the other hand…

Anyway, now that that’s out of the way, time for a few farewells.

Farewell, GUFU. Your evil empire made a fine arch-nemesis.

Farewell, mods. You’re like umpires: You know you’ve done your job right when no one talks about you. Hang in there!

Farewell to all who’ve been banned. I’ll soon be joining you in that mysterious place known as “IRL!”

Farewell to the folks at Nintendo Dream. I promise, I’ll stop by the chat every once in a while.

Farewell to the SWM crew. The community needs you.

Farewell, System Wars. Keep on fightin’.

Farewell, Gamespot. How lucky you are to have a community like this.

–Tsug

